Real Estate Topples Kings

not that i am one, but i was hard pressed to find a good ‘k’ word given my pleasant depleted state

here lies a pictorial summary:

Screen Shot 2016-10-25 at 6.26.22 PM.png

 

and here is the usual brambly ramble:

i woke up today morning to an ominous belly rumble, which was sorta like the rolls of thunder that you get before the storm swirls in and smashes everything in your cosy village that has maxed out gotong royong and you must now relocate with your 4 kids who are of tender age and a wife who has been let down by her ‘fisherwoman of the year’ trophies, none of them having inherited her talent for staying afloat in surging waters

which is to say that by noon, i had made 2 trips to the lavatory and 1 trip to acquire porridge (that would later hit the Emergency Eject switch twice, causing me to resemble a distinctly over-sized and way too trigger-happy archer fish with the watery projectiles that spewed forth)

ok im q tired hahaha but i wanted to say that – though i have kept nothing down today save for some sips of H2o and tablets from the kind lady doctor (why have you not come to see me since 2001!!), the morning brought with it a quiet joy of sorts.

Psalm 73 captures this sentiment in part, as the Psalmist there goes all Romeo on God:

Whom have I in heaven but You? And besides You, I desire nothing on earth. My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.

have been thinking about this a lot lately – that my present good health, the energy with which i greet each day, the functioning of all my hyperextended limbs – all these are gifts that i will hold for a time, and then they will cease, and who knows how long that time will be?

in between visits to the loo, i managed to get a huge load of laundry done & ironed, which was real nice. and while i pressed out the creases, i heard this sermon by Keller which talked about the church and the call to love and bless the society around it at radical personal cost.

at the end of that sermon, my body remained terribly weak, but my heart was incredibly light.

one day, my flesh will fail, and with it many of the joys that i now enjoy in full. but God, You are the strength of my heart. You are my portion, my daily bread, my joy and my light.

give me a bigger heart for those who are in need. turn me away from self-occupation. see if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the path everlasting.

Leave a Reply

