ready to be found

do not occupy yourself with foolish quarrels

i am thankful for little joys (like how lovely eggs taste when you fry them on the same grill that you’ve used to cook meat)

Lord, how long Lord?

truly

Any control I thought I had just slips right through my hands
While my ever-present conscience shakes its head and reprimands me
Then and there I confess
I’ll blame all this on my selfishness
Yet you love me
And that consumes me
And I’ll stand up again
And do so willingly

You give me hope, and hope it gives me life
You touch my heavy heart, and when you do you make it light

i am glad that truth is truth. it is truth even if you miss an emotional moment, even if you feel like you are healing but something comes and jolts you out of that state of catharsis. it is truth even if you feel like you are in the pits and your mood is topsy-turvy and all over, it is truth even when you do not see it or feel it, even if you rail at it and scream yourself hoarse. that is why truth can be terrifying – how you feel about it does nothing to change it, it does not yield to your sobs. in a world where everyone is yelling and weeping all of the time, i am glad that truth is truth.

Leave a Reply

