Have Yourself A MLC :)

IMG_1181

my mom really 10/10 CUTE (especially when Christmas comes around)

more than just a time of fabulous warmth and much food and friends flying back to say hello, though, Christmas is, above all, about love – how far will you go to rescue someone that you love?

may my attitude grow to be the same as that of Christ Jesus, who, being in very nature God, did not consider equality with God something to be grasped.

instead, He made Himself nothing, taking the very nature of a servant, becoming human like one of us.

and being found in appearance as a man, he humbled himself, and became obedient to death, even death on a cross.

“Father, all things are possible for You. if You will, take this cup of suffering from me. Yet I want Your will to be done, not mine.”

You see, at just the right time, when we were still powerless, Christ died for us, the ungodly. God demonstrates His own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

i really can’t help it. i always get overwhelmed when i read those three passages – Philippians 2 on what humility meant to Jesus, Mark 14 on Jesus praying in Gethsemane for God to please, please please do this some other way, if there is some other way please not this, not the cross, and Romans 5, on what sacrifice and love look like intertwined.

and so Christmas reminds me that my God came down to our little (third) rock in a little town to begin the slow, steady walk to the cross.

ah Lord.. the nails in your hand.. the crown of thorns on Your head.. they tell me how You love me. may Your love capture me anew, may it change every piece of hardness and pride and selfishness in my heart. help me to be like You Lord. amen.

Leave a Reply

