God, what is humility?

Your word is still what reveals the condition of my heart and lays it bare, far more than any blog post or self congratulatory pat will.

“For the word of God is alive and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart. Nothing in all creation is hidden from God’s sight. Everything is uncovered and laid bare before the eyes of him to whom we must give account.”
(Hebrews 4:12, 13 NIV)

While I might not be at fault, I can still feel my gut reaction being a defensive shrivel, me clawing together reasons to say that I am right and that others are wrong. Help me learn Proverbs 27:5 and 6, that open rebuke is better than hidden love and that the wounds of a friend are faithful.

I may be right. But that is secondary to my heart’s condition – of what use is it to be right over trivialities when my haughty and arrogant response reveals an unsurrendered heart?

You change me God. Teach me wisdom, that my life might be a blessing and not a curse. Amen.

Leave a Reply

